The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars review by David Bowie

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 8, 2002
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (42 votes)
David Bowie: The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars

Sound — 9
The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars is a concept album about a martian named Ziggy Stardust who comes to earth with his band, The Spiders, to become rock and roll stars. There's some great instrumental work in this album. The riffs are creative and catchy, especially the riff on Ziggy Stardust. There aren't a lot of solos in this album, but the ones that are there are pretty good. There is also plenty of variety in the songs, so it doesn't bore the listener. For the time in which this album was created, it has great sound and production. You can tell Bowie was really dedicated to crafting this album as a masterpiece. In fact, he became so engrossed in it that he actually convinced himself for a while that he really was Ziggy Stardust!

Lyrics — 7
At times it's hard to determine a storyline from the lyrics, but that's what makes it a concept album rather than a rock opera. The lyrics, while not particularly exceptional, do serve their purpose well and have a nice flow to them. David Bowie's vocals are strong, as always. What he lacks in lyrical ability he makes up for with his voice.

Overall Impression — 9
The top songs in my opinion are Ziggy Stardust, Suffragette City, and Rock 'n' Roll Suicide, but you can't go wrong with any of them. The greatest aspect of this album is it's sheer influence. Many of the greats in music name this as one of their favorite albums. There is not a weak song on this album. They can all stand alone, but they work very well together. It's a great album to listen to all the way through, and it's not boring. It also has a large potential audience. People who like harder or softer music can both appreciate this album. It's not heavy at all, but it has the rock elements to keep it interesting to most music lovers. If I lost this album I'd definitely buy it again. This album is a must-have in a great music collection!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date