Croz review by David Crosby

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 27, 2014
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 7.3 (12 votes)
David Crosby: Croz

Sound — 7
David Crosby's impact on the classic rock community is unignorable. Crosby has spent the greater part of five decades as part of such renowned groups as The Byrds and Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young. His dynamic vocal range has attributed memorable vocal harmonies to such songs as "Teach Your Children" and "Southern Cross." Crosby has also lent his vocals to other iconic musicians' efforts throughout the years, including a memorable live collaboration with Pink Floyd's David Gilmour on the guitarist's 2008 live effort. 

Crosby himself is similarly well known for his guitar playing, with his delicate acoustic guitar work being a profound feature showcased throughout his multiple projects. Despite having such a long and memorable musical career, David Crosby has only released a handful of solo albums. His last solo effort was 1993's "Thousand Roads," and dedicated fans have sat quietly in the sidelines, patiently awaiting to hear new music from the rock musician. 

Finally, the wait has paid off, as Crosby recently released his long awaited fourth solo album, the appropriately titled "Croz." There is enough familiarity generously spread throughout this album to appeal towards dedicated listeners of David Crosby's earlier efforts, however it also shows the musician moving in several new directions while implementing some modern elements into his signature sound. The album begins with "What's Broken," a quiet rocker which boldly highlights Crosby's still dynamic vocal range. On this track he provides his own vocal harmonies, and while they don't exactly rival those found throughout his work with Stephen Stills and Graham Nash, they do a formidable job at bringing the listener back into a similar mindset. "Time I Have" is comprised of delicate synthesizer playing, the occasional acoustic strumming and native percussion work. "Radio" is a piano driven power ballad which shows Crosby's vocals at his best, whereas "Dangerous Night" is dangerously close to what passes for a decent mainstream pop song, but still remains in tradition Crosby territory.

Lyrics — 8
There is plenty of material present on "Croz" that is directly in vein with David Crosby's earlier releases. However there are more than a handful of moments on this new album which show the vocalist trying his hand at new musical genres and styles; an appropriate move, considering this is Crosby's first new solo album in over two decades. When Crosby does decide to mix things up musically, his vocal melodies serve as a unbreakable anchor to his earlier efforts, providing a tie back for the occasional listener to hook onto. The now 72-year old vocalist continues to hit the same ranging high notes as he did back in the '60s, which allows Crosby to conjure up some knockout choruses.

Overall Impression — 8
While it may not be the unrivaled throwback to his earlier releases, David Crosby executes an applaudable performance on his new solo album, "Croz." Not too many vocalists can wait to refocus on a solo career after twenty years, and somehow manage to live up to all preset expectations. For any dedicated fan of Crosby's earlier collaborations and groups, this is an album which comes warmly recommended.

9 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Lord Waltaa
    I love his collaboration with Gilmour. Looking forward to more of their work. Crosby and Nash are about the best backing vocals you could have in a band. Good job!
    The band, arrangements and production alone make this album worth listening to. Add the depth of the lyrics and Crosby's solidly intact vocals and there are very few albums I've heard in the past few years that equal this.
    Crosby is awesome! The the reviewer: Wish you'd have said more about the actual lyrics in the lyrics part. Crosby has had some hard times and I haven't heard the album yet, what he's singing about is an important point.
    I had heard the album on Rolling Stone before it was released and had to buy it. Great listening and one you should check out even if you were not a previous fan.