Scream Bloody Gore review by Death

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1987
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (53 votes)
Death: Scream Bloody Gore

Sound — 10
By listening to Death's later progressive work, you can easily tell that "Scream Bloody Gore" was Death's first album. The sound of Scream Bloody Gore is all that a straight-up metal head loves: Heavy, Dark, Fast, and Brutal. Chuck showcases his low end vocals as well as high pitched screams ala-Mercyful Fate. The infamous "Thrash Beat" as I call it, is used throughout the album. What can go wrong with the simple metal sound on "Scream Bloody Gore"?

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics on Scream Bloody Gore are what you might call typical. Later in his career, Schuldiner reflects on his lyrical change. Chuck says that he went from writing horror lyrics to lyrics about the things people have to deal with every day in life. Scream Bloody Gore's lyrics are focused on Chucks Horror style of lyric writing. On songs like "Regurgitated Guts" you get lyrics that are typical of many metal bands. The lyrics do fit well with the speed and grind of the album as well as Chuck's exceptional vocal style.

Overall Impression — 10
Scream Bloody Gore was a great start of an inventive and amazing death metal band. Scream Bloody Gore was an excellent foundation for the ever changing genre of Death Metal. The most impressive songs off Scream Bloody Gore, for me, are the title track and the two "hidden" tracks: "Beyond The Unholy Grave", and "Land Of No Return". These songs showcase great riffs and a great tempo variation in "Land Of No Return". If you are interested in how Death got its start, are into thrash-like metal, and/or want an exceptional metal album, buy Scream Bloody Gore.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    great cd fast thrashy sound all around great cd for the time period it came out in rip chuck u are misst by many