Yeah! review by Def Leppard

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 23, 2006
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 6.1 (23 votes)
Def Leppard: Yeah!

Sound — 10
Def Leppard is ready to kick some rock n roll ass with this record! The story behind this record is simple, a tribute to their own musical heroes such as T.Rex, Mott The Hoople, Thin Lizzy, and etc. In this work, the Lepps Leppardize '70s glam hits. There were guidelines though! They had to have been hits. They had to have been British hits. They had to have been released before the Lepps signed the record deal in 1979.

Lyrics — 10
On this record each member sang at least one song (with the exception of Rick Allen). Phil Collen's stellar performance of "Stay With Me" shines on the record but does not overshadow Joe Elliott's vocals on songs such as "Rock On" and "Waterloo Sunset". On bonus discs, we also hear Rick Savage giving his rendition of Queen's "Dear Friens" and Collen doing "Search & Destroy" by Iggy Pop & The Stooges.

Overall Impression — 10
This record is run ride through the high points of '70s British glam rock. The Lepps takes on these songs are amazingly creative while staying true to their roots. The only thing, it's not a Lepp studio album, but does it really matter?! Go buy it now! Even if you're not a Lepp fan, you are sure to enjoy this trip through rock history!

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I think Def Leppard are an under rated band, magazines like Classic Rock just bum Zeppelin and Aerosmith and Deep Purple!
    Good energy from the band!A tribute to their music influences.Not bad!