Elocation review by Default

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 25, 2003
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (9 votes)
Default: Elocation

Sound — 8
Default expeirements with many different sounds this time around. Unlike their previous album, The Fallout, which was mostly good tough rock, this has a couple more ballads, along with slower rock songs, and some of the same tough rock. Default didn't change too much this time around, but did keep the hard guitar riffs going. Most of the songs are good power chord based songs that are good to listen too. There are a couple of pop based ballads which really weren't that great, but what's a rock album without them? The final track is an acoutic version of the song Let You Down, from their previous album The Fallout, and that IS done well. Overall good sound though, with instruments well played.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics aren't bad though there are trends which can be picked up. Most songs are about some sort of relationship (though not neccesarily love) and about how they are going and such. Need very deep lyrics, really pretty basic, but they definitely do go along with music, and the mood. Still a good job.

Overall Impression — 8
If you are a fan of Default's first album The Fallout you will want to pick this up. Though some of the songs seem more pop based, they still manage to keep up the good tough rock kind of songs. The first song "Who Followed Who?" is a great representaion of their ability to still crank ut the good rockin' music. Overall it is a good album don't get me wrong, with great guitar riffs, and nice drums, Default has made another good solid album. Good job guys.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date