White Pony review by Deftones

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 16, 2000
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.8 (60 votes)
Deftones: White Pony

Sound — 8
The sound usually created by Deftones a harsh, heavy sound, but with White Pony, those same descriptions can be used with a hybrid of others like melodic and emo, although they still hold up that good ol' fashion heavy metal listning to, with the likes of "Elite". However a side of the Deftones comes through that hasn't been shown, or very little on their previous albums - softer, more melodic songs. This new inspiration has given birth to more radio friendly songs, and possibly why you would've heard them a lot more from this album than the others. White Pony as a whole is a lot more "polished" and the general tone of the album sounds like they've put much more effort into the mixing and mastering process.

Lyrics — 10
Chino Moreno sings more mature, and better thought out lyrics than previous albums with a variety of singing techniques that, suit the style of genre in this album perfectly - emo and melodic/metal and alternative. Chino doesn't just sing about heart break and how the girl got away, but other not so talked about topics like anemism, depression and death. Though if you are looking for a bit more screaming and insane noises made by the Deftones singer, then you may possibly like to look somewhere else. The hardcore screams are a little bit more remnant from Around The Fur.

Overall Impression — 8
As I've said in other reviews of Deftones, the sound they make is absolutly unique and cannot be compared to any other band. The only real comparison with this album to make are the ones to other previous albums made by them. Basicly, White Pony is more toned down in places and more thought has been made in the general mood of the sound and they've come out with a more tuneful record. The Album is recommended to those who enjoy rock in general, but especially the people who enjoy alternative, metal bands. Songs that are standouts in the record are Change (In The House Of Flies), Passenger (featuring Maynard James Keenan from Tool), Back To School and Knife Party.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date