Acolyte review by Delphic

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 11, 2010
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7 Good
  • Users' score: 7 (3 votes)
Delphic: Acolyte

Sound — 6
Delphic are a four piece, all male band from Manchester, England. Their main genre is alternative dance, although there are magnificant guitar solos throughout the songs on this album. Delphic were a relatively unknown band for quite a while. They signed to Polydor records and released their first single "Counterpoint" in April of 2009. They released "Acolyte" in January 2010. "Acolyte" is a 10 track album, and every song is different, something extremely hard to acheive in the "alternative dance" genre. Delphic have a very distinct sound, nothing comes close. Their use of live drum kits along with synth kits make for a spectacular percussion sound, and the combination of low and high vocals (both from lead singer Richard Boardman) on many tracks make for a rich, impressive sound.

Lyrics — 7
All of Delphic's lyrics are simple yet powerful, with lyrics such as "If you were to come back, I'd risk a second broken heart for you" (Red Lights) and "You give me something I can believe in" (Halcyon). Most lyrics are written to represent the music, although this isn't always the key with Delphic. In one or two songs deep lyrics about falling out of love are set around 'happy' music in a major key. Rick does a fantastic job of vocals, with both high and low parts combined to form a layered track with many octaves. His husky voice doesn't always suit the track but for the majority of the songs on the album, his vocals are flawless.

Overall Impression — 8
Overall, I absolutely love the album. I'd definately recommend it to anyone who likes music by Depeche Mode, or even the likes of Enter Shikari. The only downfall is that there are quite a lot of instrumental tracks on the album (the title track Acolyte, as well as Ephemera) and this takes away from the otherwise almost flawless album. Best songs: Doubt, Submission, Halcyon. Delphic are set to get bigger and bigger in 2010, keep an eye out for them, they'll soon be in the charts.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    i love this album only criticism....the singer is called James not Richard, i think he's called James Cook