Pandora's Pinata review by Diablo Swing Orchestra

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 14, 2012
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.8 (25 votes)
Diablo Swing Orchestra: Pandora's Pinata

Sound — 9
The Diablo Swing Orchestra have done exactly what you would expect them to do by doing something that is like nothing that anyone could have anticipated. "Pandora's Piata" is yet another change in the musical styles of the DSO. To try label the sound of any DSO album as just one genre or feel would be a crime against humanity. The DSO's sound has to be explained song by song and more often than not that isn't even enough to be able to correctly categorise everything, what label can you put on a track like "Of Kali Ma Calibre" which starts off with a distorted guitar riff that is being accompanied by horns, then adding Annlouice Loegdlund's soaring lead vocals, then setting into an almost slayer like drum and guitar line, where the horns are yet again accompanying the guitars and Loegdlund's vocals are still present, then into a strings section that you would not believe could possibly be composed by the same people unless you had heard them progress into it yourself. Rest assured, weather you like the seemingly "normal" DSO styling like in "Voodoo Mon Amour", the operatic side of them that is best shown in the operatic masterpiece that is the track "Aurora" (in which lead female vocalist Annlouice Loegdlund shows off her amazing voice yet again), the border-line metal that is apparent in almost every area of the album if you listen to the guitar lines close enough or the dub-step breakdown at the end of "Justice For Saint Mary" there is definitely something here for everyone, the wider the taste in music and the higher level of appreciation for all types of music the more you will get out of this album.

Lyrics — 7
The lyrics are one of the last things that you pay attention to when you listen to a Diablo Swing Orchestra album, sure there's lines that may catch your attention and choruses that you can not get out of your head but most of the time you are not listening to the words actually being said, and trust me when you do it blows your mind. When you are able to get past the cacophony of instruments that are all doing something equally different and interesting and you are able to focus on the lyrics for more than it takes for the trumpet players to take a breath, you are hit with yet another level of confusion that by the time that you get to this layer of the DSO you have grown to expect, love and crave. The lyrics are mostly metaphoric nonsense that could be related to anything apart from the obvious lines like "you'll never see her again" (that I personally can not get out of my head) but most of the lyrics you could really sit there and think "what the f*** have these guys been smoking".

Overall Impression — 10
Overall impressions of this album are just bewildering, like the first time I listened to "Sing Along Songs For The Damned And Delirious" this has just captured all of my attention because there is so much to listen to, ever time you listen to the album or a track again you notice a different riff, or melody, or harmony that wasn't apparent before, really rendering this album as one of the albums that everyone NEEDS to listen to.

8 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Very good album. Still I don't know if I like it more tha the previous ones, it left me kind of confused, lol; but I can tell it's good.
    The majority of the female vocals ruin it for me; too operatic. Everything else is truly amazing.