Hate Campaign review by Dismember

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 29, 2000
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 5.5 (2 votes)
Dismember: Hate Campaign

Sound — 9
For the follow up to 1998's death metal effort, Dismember pump out another duel-guitared attack, similar in many ways to Death Metal. Their sound remains relatively unchanged, however, change was not really needed. The fast, dueled riffs and offbeat drums are found in mass on Hate Campaign, a bit more than before. If you liked the fast side, this album is definitely for you. The slow side is evident much less here, save for opening of "Bleeding Over" and the five minute closer. When this album was released, Nuclear Blast had basically written Dismember off, and a "deliberate" poor recording job was done (Nuclear Blast was more content to continue marketing the bands legendary first two efforts). Though the production could've been better, it's not too far off from death metal, if you didn't mind that, you won't mind this. That said, the music of this album is rivalry of my favorite album of them, Death Metal.

Lyrics — 9
Matti Kurki's vocal work here is just as it is always, a loud, yell-ish death metal scream. It is one of the things that make Dismember stand out, and the vocals compliment the blazing music perfectly. His lyrics are pretty much what they have always been as well, violence, depression and anti-Christian ideas, but here is the first verse of "Hate Campaign: I talked with God today/He was feeling weak and depressed/Overworked and stressed/I gave him what he needed best/Crying over his failed creation/Could not bear the shame/So I put a bullet through his brain/To relieve him from his pain. Although not near as bad as other lyrics of the same time, it's not the most wholesome, either.

Overall Impression — 9
By the last song, some tracks will start to sound the same. This album doesn't have quite the diversity of previous ones; with that said, it's still an amazing record. Great tracks would be "Suicidal Revelations", "Patrol 17", "Bleeding Over", and "Hate Campaign". A nice change-up would be in the end of "Enslaved to Bitterness, as the guys throw in a nice tempo change. The fast pace makes this album intense workout in speed and semi-melodic lines, but without the slower riffs, it's not quite as memorable as Death Metal. Still, it's a classic disc that any old school melodeath fan should have in their collection.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date