Believe review by Disturbed

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 16, 2002
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (65 votes)
Disturbed: Believe

Sound — 8
Believe was less heavier than Disturbed's previous album, The Sickness, but it was good in its own ways. This album is great because of the very graceful style of the overall sound. Dan Donegan's guitar technique is admirable, not bad for a nu-metal guitarist. There was either keyboard or orchestration on some of the tracks like title track "Believe". The final track "Darkness" (not to be confused with the band Darkness, which sucks ass) is a ballad featuring an acoustic sound, a guest cellist, and piano, and singer David Draiman is full-on ballad vocals.

Lyrics — 10
Like I said, on "Darkness", Draiman uses a full ballad sound. His aggressive vocals, best expressed in tracks "Prayer", "Intoxication", "Rise", the explicit "Liberate", and more, are powerful, and is made to make you hear them out. The lyrics make great sense, "Believe" talks of religion, "Liberate" talks of the limits of the mind, and common topics are about dark spirits or something like that, in my opinion.

Overall Impression — 10
As nu-metal goes, Disturbed are a great group, both albums The Sickness and this Believe good in their own way. There is sort of a message in the album to keep 'Believing', and it is a great inspiration. Even though I am a big fan of 80s hair metal, this album does not deserve to be hated. It is good work, so you may want to get it. Do not let anyone steal or damage it because it would be a great friend to you. This is one of the albums where every track is good, they are "Prayer", "Liberate", "Awaken", "Believe", "Remember", "Intoxication", "Rise", and 5 more. Try to compare it to other albums. you will find none like it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date