Underworld review by Divinyls

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 11, 1996
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 5 (2 votes)
Divinyls: Underworld

Sound — 8
During the gruelling and turbulent years that followed Divinyls biggest commercial success Divinyls were suddenly dropped from Virgin and had found themselves in massive debt. Drug and alcohol addictions were spiralling out of control. The band managed to record several tracks for movie soundtracks and a couple of live and hits collections were released. Divinyls continued a relentless touring schedule giving it their all to audiences all over the country debuting several songs that were later released in 1996 on this album, Underworld. The material is less polished than it's predecessor and for that it's a better album, a more real and honest album with some ballads and good time rock.

Lyrics — 9
Chrissy held nothing back on this release with much of her lyrics expressing her pain and longing for better times. Mark, again has crafted the right music to match each mood on each track. The combination of Mark and Chrissy still works, after all the craziness that consumed them. Chrissy's vocals have aged with the excesses of the rock and roll lifestyle, huskier and more matured. No feel good pop yelps of yesteryear are to be found.

Overall Impression — 8
There are a number of impressive songs that would have been huge hits if given the chance. Some of the songs are not up to Divinyls standards but one must consider the circumstances surrounding the recording of the album, the bands troubles. All things considered this is a gutsy and dignified release. We await a new studio album. We had 4 great new songs.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    I'm Jealous would be the one song from this album that many people would remember. It was featured on Melrose Place.