American Apathy review by Dope

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 26, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.8 (14 votes)
Dope: American Apathy

Sound — 10
Need something loud and hard to bang your head to? Well, here's the album for you! The guitar (performed by Virus) component of this album is mind-boggling. From the first track to the very last of American Apathy, every guitar riff is played with heart and soul. The guitar solos are also extraordinary (check out 'Survive' for example) and quite technical. The guitar of each verse is played in such a sense that it gives the whole album a heavier sound. For guitar players looking for something challenging and fun to tab, here's one for you. The bass (performed by Brix, former guitarist of Skrape), as always, is quite full sounding. Overall, the bass supports the rest of the band quite well. Like the rest of the other Dope albums, the drumming (performed by Racci) is defiantly impressive. Fast beats, complex beats, you've got it all in this album. The addition of soundclips from Mr. President George Dubya Bush makes this album quite political (for all you political music lovers, here's another one for you). Most of all, the clips actually fit in quite well with the music. Overall, the sound is amazing, like all the other previous Dope albums. If you thought Group Therapy was too 'light' for you, check this one out, you won't regret it.

Lyrics — 10
Edsel Dope is one of the more talented singers, and he is back, with American Apathy. In this album, his vocals are stronger, and harder than the last album, Group Therapy (though it was a very good album itself). The contrast between 'softer sounds' such as in 'Always', and 'People Are People', and the 'harder sounds' of 'Bastard' and 'No Way Out' is truly impressive. The lyrics work very well overall. They are easy to understand, at the same time, very meaningful. Certain lyrics are very politically driven such as "I Wish I Was President", and "I'm Back" to name just two. Overall, the lyrics, like the previous Dope albums, is remarkable.

Overall Impression — 10
Dope has come a long way since they first started. They have been through the leavings of quite a number of band members but they are still strong and touring and with numerous adoring fans. Dope can not be compared to other artist because they are unique, and different from anything else you hear when you turn on the radio. Basically, as mentioned earlier, the guitar solos and riffs are very impressive. There is nothing to dislike about this particular album! If you are looking for something melodic to sing along to, you have "Always" and "People Are People." If you are looking for fast-beated, head banging songs, you've got "Bastard." If you are looking for something heavy, you've got "No Way Out," "Survive," and "Revolution." This album is the whole package. Try it out, you might find yourself a new band to love. George Bush defiantly needs to pick up this album and hear what some people think about him! Lastly, if this album ever gets wrongfully taken away from me, I will first buy a new copy, and then chase after the person who stole it. Enjoy, American Apathy, a newer, better, Dope experience.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date