The Darker Side Of Nonsense review by Dry Kill Logic

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 5, 2001
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (5 votes)
Dry Kill Logic: The Darker Side Of Nonsense

Sound — 10
From the first time I heard this album, it completely blew me away. The guitar work is great and produces some of the heaviest riffs ever made by a nu-metal band. The bass work fits in perfectly with the drumming, which is fast, tight, and aggressive. The singer screams his lungs out on almost every track and he does it with a style that has amazing depth. This is an amazing album.

Lyrics — 8
He screams on practically every song, but along with screaming he also can sing really well. This constant changing gives the songs a good flow and leaves many suprises as to what he will do next, such as on "Pain" and "Give In, Give Up, Lie Down." The lyrics are angry and aggressive, but not too personal on that many songs. What is really suprising is the acoustic song "Goodnight" at the end of the album, which shows the singers amazing ability to harmonize and adjust to anything.

Overall Impression — 8
All in all an excellent album, far better then many other CD's out there. The opening track gives you a good idea of what is to come, and just when you think you know what's next, the acoustic song at the end gets you by suprise. The best tracks are Nightmare, Feel The Break, Assfault, Weight, Rot, Give In Give Up Lie Down, and Goodnight. If this CD were stolen I would definitely buy another without hesitation. It's perfect for those who love just straight metal without all the gimmicks and media grabbing.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date