Farewell I Tour - Live From Melbourne [DVD] review by Eagles

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 14, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Content: 9
  • Production Quality: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.5 (19 votes)
Eagles: Farewell I Tour - Live From Melbourne [DVD]

Sound — 10
Well the sound is great, although The Eagles are old no one can deny there great Rock Skills. Although they are mainly classified as rock, The Eagles have many styles which makes them great. The sound of the DVD reflects that with the great choice of songs, which give the great rocking hits like "Life In The Fast Lane" and "Hotel California", but also includes more Country Flavored songs like "Take It Easy" and "Tequila Sunrise", and also has more Contemporary Hits Like "I Can't Tell You Why" and "Wasted Time". No matter which a fan favors the sound of every song contributed to the amazing sound of this DVD.

Content — 9
Well there is a short 10 minute interview with the four members of the Eagles, there could have been more but the music more than makes up for the lack of special features. Don Henley and Glenn Frey are sounding as good as in the '70s, they sound almost like they haven't aged one year. With Classics like "Take it Easy", "Desperado", and "Hotel California", the musical content is amazing. And the inclusion of the solo Songs allows even more classic tunes like Don Henley's "Dirty Laundry" and "All She Wants To Do Is Dance", and Joe Walsh's "Rocky Mountain Way", and Glenn Frey's "You Belong To The City". Every song is great and the live versions are just as good, if not better, than the studio versions.

Production Quality — 10
The production quality is top-notch, with incredible lights and laser show that really get the whole feel of every song that it is representing. And the camera set up is great, showing every member of the band and not leaving anyone out. The stage is very large and adds a great scale to the performance. And these elements make me wonder how much each show cost to put on.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall this live concert is awesome, these guys are playing great for there age, most guys there age are gardening out in the suburbs, not playing three hour long concerts to sold out arenas, and the band is playing like young guys. And a set list of classic songs doesn't hurt any to them, and this Live DVD stands up to the "Hell Freezes Over" DVD released back in the '90s and the live versions of every songs are as good as the Studio versions.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Love the eagles. But its kinda dodgy there is never mention of Timothy B. Schmidt, he is a talented songwriter and bass player, to to mention his outstanding singing voice. He is a major force in the Eagles, its sad how he is always left in the shadows GO EAGLES