The Delivery Man review by Elvis Costello

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 21, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 5 (1 vote)
Elvis Costello: The Delivery Man

Sound — 10
This was the most diverse record of 2004 (yes even more than Modest Mouse). Elvis Costello recorded this record in Mississippi and you can tell that southern influences abound on this record. Costello takes old school rock and roll, blues, gospel, soul, and country and puts it in a blender all on top of dark almost gothic lyric love songs. Elvis also does 2 duets with Emmylou Harris on this record that sounds like an angry version of Kid Rock and Sheryl Crow's "Picture."

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are very angry for mr. Costello. Normally he is known for Alison, and smooth melodic songs that float along for 3 minuets. But here on "Delivery Man" Elvis writes 4 1/2 min long songs about Odes to a long lost love that he basically admits to never really liking in the first place. But yet he pulls it off.

Overall Impression — 10
Compared to all of his other CD's (having heard them) this is by far his most versitle and is by far his most agressive. The more imprssive songs fon the record are "Monkey To Man," "There's A Story In Your Voice," "Heart Shpaed Bruise" and "The Scarlet Tide". Do yourself a favor and listen to this amazing record.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date