Me And Mr. Johnson review by Eric Clapton

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 23, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9 (22 votes)
Eric Clapton: Me And Mr. Johnson

Sound — 10
Clapton's reincarnation of 14 old Robert Johnson songs convince absolutely when it comes to sound. With several guitar and piano layers it serves all those people used to high-class studio productions without loosing this old, groovy blues-feeling. The rhythms, sometimes slow like in "Come On In My Kitchen" or fevery-fast as in "They're Red Hot", will sure make everyone nod their heads and stomp their feet and maybe dance a bit.

Lyrics — 8
Johnson's lyrics are short and consist of some lines that are repeated throughout the song, interrupted by little instumental solos. One might find this uncreative or boring but the words are easy to sing along and sometimes quite entertaining (as in "Me And The Devil Blues"). However, Clapton performs the lyrics just with the right passion and blues-feeling.

Overall Impression — 10
It's a great classic blues album with a high-class sound. A wonderful cd to listen to, when you need to get moving or just want to enjoy some nice blues. The cd contains 14 songs, which promises about one hour of good music. The album comes in a paper-case with some nice artwork (including a portrait of Clapton by Peter Blake). The booklet is a bit dissapointing though, it contains the tracklist and some band-credits only. I think they should've at least provided the lyrics. However, a great cd definitely worth buying!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date