Unplugged review by Eric Clapton

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 18, 1992
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.9 (30 votes)
Eric Clapton: Unplugged

Sound — 10
March 1991, Eric Clapton's son Conor dies after falling off an apartment window in NYC, apartment wich was Eric's italian model girlfriend. A tragedy that lead for Clapton to write the heart breaking "Tears In Heaven." One of Clapton's best friends Stevie Ray Vaughn also died in a tragic plane crush. Those were not so easy years, his alcohol addiction, and with low album sales, Clapton was as down as it gets. This album was recorded in front of 300 people in January 1992. If it wasn't for the audience you wouldn't know if the album was live or in the studio, that's how good it is. Clapton does songs from his solo time, Cream time, Dereck and the Dominos time, and some Robert Johnson, (wich 12 years later he will realese a full album as a tribute to him).

Lyrics — 10
While he wrote most of the lyrics on some songs, "Tears In Heaven" was his best. Probably one of Clapton's best work. His voice is so good, I think he is just as good playing the acoustic as he is good playing Electric. The song "Tears In Heaven" won a Grammy for best song of the year (the version from "Unplugged", not the studio version).

Overall Impression — 10
When Clapton recorded the show he didn't thought it will ever be realesed, becouse he didn't thought it was good enough. Thanks god he realesed the album! It sold over 7 million albums in the US alone and won 6 grammy awards (including best album and song). I think this is probebly Clapton's best album, from the opening of "Signe" to the very very nice blues tune "San Francisco Bay Blues" to the ending Cream Track "Rollin' & Tumblin'" wich wasent even planned to be part of the show. At the end when his says "you got it?" he asks if they recorded it, this 6 times grammy winner is a must have for any fan of music. The only down side of this album is that they didn't include "My Father's Eyes" and "Circus Left Town" in the CD, both were part of the show, and both will appear in Clapton 1998 album "Pilgrim". If it were stolen, I wuold be glad somebody will have the chance to listen to it, that's how good it is.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date