Blessed Be This Nightmare review by Eternal Lord

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 18, 2008
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.3 (33 votes)
Eternal Lord: Blessed Be This Nightmare

Sound — 8
It's not every day you see a death metal band emerge from a place like Swindon, England, especially not one with a name like 'Eternal Lord', however the band are certainly worth taking notice of. They're starting to gain some more popularity among people who's lives don't revolve around MySpace, and there's good reason for that. A label like 'deathcore' is one that plenty of people will avoid like the plague, with frankly pathetic outfits such as Bring Me The Horizon chug-squee'ing their way to success. Eternal Lord, however, is something quite different. They've got real style and power. They clearly enjoy doing what they do and they pull it off with finesse and creativity that is missing from this genre. The vocals of Ed Butcher, for starters, are actually quite good and that alone is one thing that makes this band stand out from countless bands that you'll see labelled in a similar way. However, dismissing Eternal Lord simply as 'just another deathcore band' is a big mistake, as they incorporate so much more into their sound that just death metal brutality and metalcore grooves. There's a lot of melody as well, subtle little clean guitar parts and even a fully acoustic song to be found on 'Blessed Be This Nightmare'. Their riffs are very slick and the guitarists Shaun Zerebecki and Chris Gregory clearly have influences ranging from Gothenburg melodic death bands to progressive metal acts to hardcore greats such as Refused. This interesting variety in sound without seeming to be there for the sake of it means that there's never a dull moment on 'Blessed Be This Nightmare'.

Lyrics — 9
Well, the lyrics are hardly distinguishable giving the style of vocals, and there is no access to printed lyrics so there is not really an awful lot that can be said on the lyrics of the album, so the score is 9 only to manipulate the average score to a more accurate representation of what I think of the album.

Overall Impression — 9
'Blessed Be This Nightmare' is a quality album. There's no denying that and I'm very impressed by this band. They're a good unit and from a technical standpoint each musician does a great job, especially drummer and producer Stuart Mackay. From the almost black-metally feel of 'O'Brothel Where Are Thou' to the acoustic number 'Amity' to the crushing title track, the solidarity of Eternal Lord is very impressive. If you don't fancy going out on a limb and buying this album, than at least give a few songs from it a listen on their website because this band really deserve some attention, and hopefully the US release and full length promotion of 'Blessed Be This Nightmare' will help garner them that praise they deserve for this work.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date