Ten Years Gone: The Best Of Everclear, 1994-2004 review by Everclear

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 5, 2004
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (2 votes)
Everclear: Ten Years Gone: The Best Of Everclear, 1994-2004

Sound — 8
The sound on this record is very inconsistent. It goes from grunge sounding "Fire Maple Song" to poppish "AM Radio" but that is what makes Everclear, Everclear. Somehow these guys pull off having such a diverse sound and stilling keeping their edgey sound.

Lyrics — 10
This whole album is basically a tribute to singer, songwriter Art Alexakis. He is compared to great song writers such as Bruce Springsteen, John Mellencamp, and Elvis Costello. I think that this is the perfect CD for Art to show his talent.

Overall Impression — 10
21 songs is a lot of Everclear. But it doesnt seem like that much Everclear when you think about it. Ten Years is a long time, especially with todays music standars. There are classic Everclear songs "Wonderful" "Santa Monica" "Father Of Mine" "I Will Buy You A New Life" are the standard Everclear songs. Then there are those for the Everclear hardcores. "Strawberry," "Heroin Girl," "Summerland" and "Fire Maple Song" just to name a few. There are even 2 new songs on this record. "Sex With A Movie Star" and "The New Disease" are awesome songs that just capitalize on the extrordinary band that is Everclear.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    wow you give song from an american movie pt1 only 6 and say it sucks, yet you say one of their classic songs are wonderful. hmmmm