Eternity review by Every Little Thing

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (3 votes)
Every Little Thing: Eternity

Sound — 8
One thing which figures highly in Every Little Thing's discography is their ever-evolving sound. This is really a mini-album as there's effectively only 9 tracks in this one. The sound is synth-heavy and quite like old-school pop. While that conjures up images of Europe and Bananarama, at least the vocals are without the cheese. Like most of their albums, this figures great instrumentation and harmony. What would surprise many is that every song has a guitar solo in it. The solos are understated yet are fairly demanding. What's especially interesting in this album is the interplay between the keyboardist (Igarashi) and guitarist (Ichiro), something we don't see very often in pop-rock bands.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics is in Japanese, so I have no idea. Mochida's (the vocalist) vocals have started to develop a style of her own after sounding fairly generic for the first 2 albums. She also seems less restrained. Her vocals are saccharine but not overpoweringly so. Again, you can find dead spots in certain spots where her vocals are concerned, this is especially so live. But originality figures highly.

Overall Impression — 8
You can't exactly call them a pop band because their sound is not that mainstream. And their sound is not exactly standard rock stuff. It's this interplay which makes it unique, and different from similar bands on the Japanese scene like Do As Infinity. The most impressive I think, would be "Just Be You" and "Rescue Me." It has energy, and complexity in its structure. One downside is that this album is still not that adventurous, as synth and guitar driven pop-rock is what ELT has been doing for the past 2 albums. This is unlike their later albums where they went acoustic or did ballads. I would get this album if it get stolen because ELT starts to mature in this album, and it featured the last of their trademark sound (the keyboardist left after this album).

0 comments sorted by best / new / date