Five Serpent's Teeth review by Evile

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 26, 2011
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.3 (39 votes)
Evile: Five Serpent's Teeth

Sound — 10
From their first demos - "All Hallows Eve" and "Hell Demo" - Evile have shown that they were a band to be reckoned with. The debut, "Enter The Grave", resembles Slayer-type riffs and amazing solos. The sophomore album, Infected Nations, was where Evile developed their own sound, and is slightly melodic. "Five Serpent's Teeth", the focus of this review and the band's third record, sees Evile completely embrace their new sound, and take the music to new levels. Released in 2011, the band retain their Thrash roots, but develop the sound. They worked with Russ Russell of Parlour Studios, Kettering, for a second time as they did with "Infected Nations". Russ did a fantastic job with the production - it sounds crisp, clean and everything is audible. Of course, this is the band's first record without original bassist, Mike Alexander, who passed away on 5th October 2009. Vocals & Guitars - Matt Drake Guitars - Ol Drake Bass - Joel Graham Drums - Ben Carter

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are more grown-up than "Enter The Grave", and there's even a 'ballad' ("In Memoriam") on the album, in memory of Mike Alexander. Some of the lyrics are quite angry, others reflective and dark. My favourite lyrics are from "In Memoriam". The lyrics on "Cult" are good, too. Especially live where Matt encouraged the crowd to shout another... Similar... Word to cult! Matt Drake's vocals have definitely improved; we heard on "Enter The Grave" shouts, yells and growls. "Infected Nations" saw pitched vocals come in, to great effect. Matt seems to have added a new ferocity to his singing, and even uses clean vocals at different points of the album. The singing is great.

Overall Impression — 10
If you haven't gathered, I'm a massive fan of Evile. This is their best album yet. I highly recommend any fan of Thrash, or just straight-up Metal, to buy this album if they can. It's my favourite release of 2011, over Onslaught's "Sounds Of Violence", Venom's "Fallen Angels", Anthrax's "Worship Music", and more than I can mention here. Songs in order: In Memoriam Cult Long Live New Flesh In Dreams Of Terror Descent Into Madness Xaraya Centaurian Origin Of Oblivion Eternal Empire But honestly, there's no bad song on it whatsoever. I'd definitely buy this again if it was stolen, lost or broken!!!!

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    It's done in the same sort of style as Blackened, with the dark, evil sounding harmonies, but the actual "riff" (for want of a better word) doesn't really remind me of Blackened, but that's just what I'm hearing