The Real Thing review by Faith No More

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 16, 1989
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.8 (37 votes)
Faith No More: The Real Thing

Sound — 9
Faith No More is a pioneer in the field of funk metal, along with the Red Hot Chili Peppers, with almost no credit for the creation of the genre itself. The sound of this album is traditional in some senses, and abstract in others. Like most funk metal bands, the heavy slap-bass is heard throughout, most notably in songs like "Epic," "Woodpecker From Mars" and "The Morning After." Bill Gould does an excellent job at providing heavy bass grooves that are happy thumps to the ear, while Jim Martin does a great job of providing great guitar work for Bill to work over (even though I'd like to see Jim solo more than three times on the album. ) However, some concepts FNM used are very odd to that of regular funk metal. For one, they use keyboards, which provides another great layer to the music. All of this comes together, along with humour, to form the FNM sound. However, the lack of consistency in bringing everything together is the only thing wrong as far as sound goes. Some songs, like "Fom out of Nowhere" and "Falling to Pieces" are very poppy, while "Surprise! You're Dead!", "Epic" and "Zombie Eaters" are very "in your face."

Lyrics — 8
The titles of the songs have nothing to hide. "Surprise! You're Dead!", "The Morning After" and "Falling to Pieces" spearhead the "if you can't get it, you're a retard" lyrical stylings. Although most of the songs are predictable on what they're supposed to be about, this was a very large trait for funk metal, and their "less is more" philosphy for writing meaningful lyrics should be hailed as a cornerstone in funk metal. As far as Mike Patton goes, he uses a variety of different voices to capture certain moods within the songs.

Overall Impression — 9
This is quite a good album. Aside from the first track (complete garbage) this album is very good, although their lack of sticking their feet in the mud when it comes to a signature sound doesn't say much about how the rest of their albums sound. This is a great buy for lovers of RHCP, but want something a little heavier, or for RATM fans who want something less political and more humourous. Overall, a very good album.

3 comments sorted by best / new / date