Comfort In Sound review by Feeder

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 20, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (12 votes)
Feeder: Comfort In Sound

Sound — 10
The sound of "Comfort..." is a long step away from Echo Park. Arguably the band's finest two albums, the second (Comfort In Sound) has turned away from the old Feeder sound of pop-punk-metal, and progressed towards a calmer yet still very much rock sound. The unique Feeder rock-guitar barre-chord sound still remains, and there are still several heavier, upbeat songs (e.g. Helium), but the band have grasped a new, almost serene edge to their songs - possibly influenced by the suicide of their drummer John. While before there were raw, powerful guitar lines there are now soft, moving string melodies. Previously unheard clean guitar sounds are now prominent, for example on the hit-single "Just The Way I'm Feeling." The album also uses more electronic, keyboard-generated sounds - the sound is far more progressive than any previous Feeder album.

Lyrics — 8
Grant is a brilliant songwriter, and his lyrics are creative and poetic. His lyric writing often returns to old themes - many lyrics can be heard in several songs! However, this does not ruin the edge, and there are of course many new lyrics. There has been contemplation as to the meanings of several songs - "Come Back Around" may have been written for Grant's dead friend and colleague John.

Overall Impression — 10
Certainly Feeder's most progressive album, if not their best. In my humble opinion this album is up there with the likes of Echo Park. The lyrics are also more inventive, the sounds are more diverse, and the album sleeve design is kind of cool. My personal favourite songs are: Come Back Around (a high-paced, upbeat song with moving lyrics), Child In You (a slow, dreamy song with a haunting guitar riff), Find The Colour (possibly the best song on the album; upbeat, sunny-day music with sharp lyrics and a memorable melody, Summer's Gone (heavier, almost like Nirvana meets Muse but with Grant Nicholas on vocals. A powerful chord progression and lots of distortion in the chorus). This is a great album, and all Feeder fans should certainly own (or illegally download) a copy!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date