Pushing The Senses review by Feeder

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 31, 2005
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.2 (21 votes)
Feeder: Pushing The Senses

Sound — 8
Feeders sound may have progressed majorly since their 1995 debut, but this album seems to be a step in the wrong direction. taking more from CIS than it should, Pushing The Senses is a soft indie album, and detracts majorly from their poppy side. This is alledged to be the actual album written in anguish of Jon Lee's death, as most of comfort in sound was actually written before his unfortunate departure. As such, the album is slow, soft and ballady, and sounds very much like coldplay. However, where they have gone softer, there are still some cracking tracks on the album. The albums title track, bitter glass and pilgrim soul are reminders that feeder are still strong in the rocky department.

Lyrics — 10
Omitting Pain On Pain, the lyrics are outstanding as you would expect from grant. He is an incredible singer and his voice is astounding on the album. He fits the music perfectly, and always has.

Overall Impression — 7
If you loved CIS you'll like this, if you are more of a Polythene, maybe Even YWTS or Swim fan, then you'll pretty much hate this album. Most impressive songs? Bitter Glass, Pilgrim Soul and Pushing The Senses, with feeling a moment being a nice relaxing track. However, first single Tumble And Fall was dire, and Pain On Pain is just dreadful (this is coming from a huge fan, only BadHairDay is as bad as pop). If it were stolen I would buy it again, just take a while doing it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date