What It Is To Burn review by Finch

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 12, 2002
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.5 (23 votes)
Finch: What It Is To Burn

Sound — 10
Masterful. One word to describe this album. The guitars, the bass, the drums, the signing, the screaming, it's all perfect. There is not one track on this CD that I don't like.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are very good. Nate can write a good emo tune ('Stay With Me'), but he can also write very deep poetic songs ('Ender'). The vocals, wether it be nice melodic singing or screaming, suit the lyrics and the music very well.

Overall Impression — 10
I love this album. I can easily say that it is my favorite CD. Somewhat comparable to the Used sound-wise, but Finch is much better musically. The most impressive song is the title track, 'What it is to Burn'. It is a masterpiece, amazing, I can listen to it over and over again. Some other notable tracks are 'Three Simple Words', 'Perfection Through Silence', and 'Untitled'. I love everything about this CD, and if were lost I would buy 2 more, just to be safe. Buy it now, you will not be dissapointed. Finch delivers.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date