Trollhammaren review by Finntroll

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 19, 2004
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 0 (0 votes)
Finntroll: Trollhammaren

Sound — 8
Finntroll's first metal release with new singer Tapio Wilska. Begins with happy sounding "Trollhammaren", which became - and remains still - the hit song of the band. This is the only song that they put to the next full album: "Nattfödd". Album is totally different from "Jaktens Tid". Much heavier, but still kinda happy with melodies. After "Trollhammaren" comes 2 heavier songs and after that a metal version of "Försvinn Du Som Lyser" - it was originally released on "Visor Om Slutet" wich was an acoustic EP. Pretty happy sounding song. The last song "Helvete" begins with some really weird sounding melody that you wont hear later on their songs. Overally it sounds good, just a bit heavy and not so full of melodies like "Jaktens Tid". Also the humppa is pretty much gone.

Lyrics — 8
Lyrics are once again basic folk stuff. Wilska has a deep voice, perfect for growling. But it wont fit that well on stuff like "Jaktens Tid", so it changes the music into a lot heavier. While Katla wasn't able to do growls, Wilska isn't able to do high screams. They still didn't give up with Swedish lyrics when Katla had to leave, which is a good thing because it just fits perfectly.

Overall Impression — 8
Overall it's a nice little EP, definitely worth getting because the songs aren't released anywhere else - except "Trollhammaren" song. It's a lot heavier than they were before and it's just showing what's coming up... "Nattfödd" with all it's growling and heavy riffs. I think they should have put more songs into "Nattfödd" from this EP, but nowadays you can get this EP with "Nattfödd" so it really isn't a big problem. It's kind of good release, not perfect thought.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date