American Capitalist review by Five Finger Death Punch

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 11, 2011
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 4
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 5.7 Decent
  • Users' score: 7.1 (116 votes)
Five Finger Death Punch: American Capitalist

Sound — 7
5FDP is back with their third album. The mixing on this one sounds considerably better than the first, however some songs just aren't as good mixing-wise. Without a bassist, they had to comprimise with their producer playing the bass parts for this album. Overall, a good effort. Here's a track-by-track: 01. American Capitalist: a fast-paced riff kicks off this album. Sounds fairly solid so far, with the vocalist alternating between screamed and clean vocals often - A huge complex solo is also added in to make the song just a tiny bit more epic. Great start. 02. Under and Over It: catchy, catchy stuff. Most of you should've already heard this one, it's annoyingly catchy but a letdown in comparison to the first track. Fairly dull riff, and an uninteresting solo also. 03. The Pride: it's hard to believe this song made the album. For starters, the song has some of the worst lyrics I've ever heard - For the most part it's just listing items in modern society.. The solo is also really boring to listen to. Probably just filler track, next.. 04. Coming Down: the first 'softer' song on American Capitalist, similar to songs from their previous album such as "Far from Home" and "Walk Away" - Considerably better than the previous two songs despite the fact it's not heavy in some aspects - The song builds up in instrumentation and atmosphere as it goes on despite the lead guitar mostly being acoustic (It switches to electric for the solo). Really good song. 05. Menace: "OHHHHHH YEAHHHHHH!! F*** IT." - The opening scream as this song bursts into life. One of the heavier songs on the album (There are a lot of them, might I add, but not all of them as good as this one), and fairly catchy also. Even better than the title track. Solo really fits the song, also, which is nice. One of my favourites. 06. Generation Dead: this song never really picks up. It's fairly good but it doesn't ever go anywhere. Fairly bland, much like "Under and Over It". The vocalist uses a fairly strange vocal tone in the verses of this song also, which is somewhat offputting. A more powerful vocal effort in the choruses, however. 07. Back for More: my personal favourite track on the album. One of the heavier tracks despite the lack of fully-screamed verses. Catchy chorus, and a brilliant guitar solo. Riffage in this one is considerably better than most of the tracks on the album, too. I honestly can't find anything bad about this track. 08. Remember Everything: another ballad, this one's more likely to bring out the tears, however. The lyrics in this one are far more emotional in comparison to "Coming Down". Almost poppy elements are utilised in the chorus, where the instrumentation suddenly becomes a lot heavier much like in a handful of other ballads. The solo just makes the song even more powerful. Love it. 09. Wicked Ways: back to the heavy. Another fast-paced riff, just like in the title-track. The song slows down a little as the vocals hit, sadly. Fairly dull, and the vocalist's tone doesn't seem as good as in other tracks. The lyrics aren't exactly commendable on this track, either. Just filler. 10. I'll Fall: a third ballad? You'd think so, judging by the introduction - But then it suddenly bursts into life. This song is badass. It does get all ballad-like in parts but only briefly, and that really adds to the atmosphere within the song. Ends with an acoustic guitar playing out which also adds to the effect. 11. 100 Ways to Hate: yawn. This song is pretty much just profanity, and it's honestly the most uninteresting song on the album. If you're an immature 12 year old who laughs every time you hear a swear, you're going to love it. Apart from the guitar solo, this song just doesn't pick up. Giving the album an overall rating of 7, although there's the occasional filler track it's mostly great and is considerably better than "War Is the Answer" since that only had like 5 good tracks in my opinion.

Lyrics — 4
While there's some shining lyrics now and then, it's generally just bad. The Pride for example sounds like it's been written by a 2 year old.. Unimpressed. "Disneyland, White House, JFK and Micky Mouse John Wayne, Springsteen, Eastwood, James Dean Coca Cola, Pepsi, Playboy, Text me NFL, NBA, Brett Favre, King James" That's an example of lyrics within The Pride - Just horrible.

Overall Impression — 6
Although there's some really interesting songs every now and then it's generally a bland and boring album. Great soloing in a handful of the songs, though. Their guitarists have improved a little from their last album, not just focusing on shredshredshred but also concentrating on melodic playing. If it were stolen, though, I wouldn't panic since you can't exactly steal from iTunes.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date