One by One review by Foo Fighters

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 22, 2002
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (94 votes)
Foo Fighters: One by One

Sound — 8
This album is definitely a step away from the poppier songs of There Is Nothing Left To Lose and The Colour And The Shape. The lyrical content and songs are generally darker and less radio friendly than anything the Foos have done before. The disc starts off with a bang, with the first single, All My Life. All My Life is a barrage of guitars and fury packed into one neat package. Following All My Life is the third single, Low. This one of the hardest and fastest songs that they have ever made. The drums of Taylor Hawkins really shine hear, pounding through your stereo speakers behind the riffs of Dave Grohl and Chris Shiflett. Have It All is the next stand out track. It has a brilliant riff and is really one of the more radio friendly tunes on the album. the fourth track is Times Like These. This is probably the poppiest song on the album, with great clean guitars and some nice drumming. The disc then starts to tail off slightly from Disenchanted Lullaby on to Comeback. the standout tracks from this part of the album are Halo, which combines a nice acoustic guitar with some incredible lyrics to make another catchy song. the closer, Comeback, follows the tradition that the Foos have of finishing with a flourish. Clocking in at over 7 minutes, the first part of the song contains a nice guitar riff and some good bass work from Nate Mendel. The next section of the song is done on an acoustic guitar, and contains no lyrics. The album finishes out with the return of the elctrics for the last minute or so of the song.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics written by Dave Grohl for this album are right on par with the rest of the albums, and definitely are influenced by his then fiancee(now wife).Standouts lyrically are Times Like These, which contains some metaphors and very meaningful words in the chorus. Disenchanted Lullaby and Halo are both great love songs.

Overall Impression — 8
Overall, One By One is another great album from Foo Fighters. Some of their best work is here, including All My Life, have It All, Times Like These, Halo, and Comeback. There won't be as many hits off of this album, but the quality and consistency is still there from Dave Grohl and co. This was one of the best albums released in 2002, and won a grammy for best rock record as well.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date