There Is Nothing Left to Lose review by Foo Fighters

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 2, 1999
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (56 votes)
Foo Fighters: There Is Nothing Left to Lose

Sound — 10
After a blistering follow up to the debut album 'The Colour And The Shape' was a massive success, but after the loss of foos lead guitarist Pat Smear (also ex-Nirvana) it was up to Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nate Mendel to do the third album as a three piece. And what an album! The opening riffs of songs like 'Stacked Actors' and 'Learn To Fly' were just as good as the spacey intro's to songs such as 'Breakout' and 'Aurora'. This album truly sounds fantastic. Start to finish, the sound tears throught the speakers, and you can only sit back and admire the talent of the three gentlemen. The third album from the Foo's completely contrasts with there hard rocking previous work. Out with hard, headbanging riffs, and cue the gentle sway of songs like 'Next Year', 'MIA' and 'Ain't It The Life', although once into the swing of it traks such as breakout and stacked actors could rock the socks off Mr. Grohl himself. Truly outstanding.

Lyrics — 8
Out of the three albums so far the lyrics on the tracks of there is nothing left to lose are by far the most meaningful, even if a little clichet and cheesy. And the singing itself is impeccible. To the slightly higher keys of 'Learn To Fly' to the furious screams of 'Breakout. One bad thing about lyrics on the record is there simply isn't enough screaming! Looking back at songs like 'Enough Space' and the closing bars of 'February Stars' from second album 'The Colour And The Shape' - there simply isn't enough screaming to satisfy the hard rocker, but for the slightly more sophisticated music fan the lyrics are enough to bring tears of joy to every listeners eyes.

Overall Impression — 10
What can I say that I haven't already? I wouldn't say this was the best work of the Foo Fighters so far, but outstanding all the same. Start to finish the cd has everything you could possibly want: riffs, screams, melodies and slow chorus' on 'Aurora' and 'Next Year.' This is every rockers dream.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date