Ekklesia review by For Today

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 1, 2008
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.1 (33 votes)
For Today: Ekklesia

Sound — 10
For Today has been on the rise for a while now and after constant touring throughout 2007 they have finally released their debut full length on Facedown Records. The album is everything expected of the band. Heavy as it gets with some of the best breakdowns to be concieved in this day of hardcore. It was refreshing to hear a band whose guitarists show their full talent in playing their instruments. The drummer is amazing. Definately one of the most skilled and talented drummers in music today. The mix of styles in their music and the cmoposition is seemingly flawless.

Lyrics — 10
For Today is a Christian band and when they say it they mean it. They are all about spreading the word of Christ through their music. They are one of the few Christian metal/hardcore bands that hold true to this. The lyrics go from praising God for the blessing of life to lifting listeners up to get on the right path with God even after messing up in life.

Overall Impression — 10
Their stlye is similar to that of August Burns Red with the instrumental technicality of Between the Buried and Me or the Human Abstract. There are no "filler" songs on the album. Pretty much every song is an amazing listen and will keep you listening. It's a definate must-buy so go check out your local Hot-Topic or Best Buy or order it online.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date