Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action review by Franz Ferdinand

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 26, 2013
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (59 votes)
Franz Ferdinand: Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action

Sound — 9
Franz Ferdinand, the Scottish rockers from Glasgow have made themselves well known in the music industry with a career dominated by hits such as "No You Girls," "Take Me Out," "Do You Want To" & "Dark of the Matinee." They have been known to be as an exciting live act, creating a spectacularly high-energy performance. This met with catchy, dance-rock songs that get everyone moving has made the band extremely well known for their concerts, festival performances and magnificent chemistry both on stage and in the studio. 

Franz Ferdinand's 2013 release "Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action" reached #1 on the UK Independent Albums Charts and reached the top 10 on 14 other major music charts. It is an extremely danceable album with most of the songs having a fun-danceable feel to them that gets the listeners moving to the tracks. Their dance-rock sound that they have been known for has continued through into this album. The songs may not quite have the rawness of some of the tracks on their previous albums, with tracks like "Fresh Strawberries" & "Treason! Animals," seeming more mainstream pop than the hard rocking-dance tracks of "Do You Want To" and "What She Came For" off their earlier releases. 

In saying this, the album is still extremely catchy and danceable with the classic Franz Ferdinand sound still remaining on the majority of the albums tracks. Songs like "Love Illumination," "Right Action" & "Evil Eye" capture the dance-rock experience that fans hope to see in Franz Ferdinand. "Love Illumination" in particular, seems to be one of the bands best songs to date. With catchy riffs, a great hook and an interesting use of a brass section, which hasn't been seen in their music before. The albums later tracks like "The Universe Expanded" & "Brief Encounters" don't seem work like the past releases of Franz Ferdinand, where although good songs, the tracks don't seem to work like the albums other tracks. This results in a sort of decline in the album, where it opens strongly with extremely dancy tracks like "Right Action" & "Love Illumination," then as the album progresses past the half-way point the album seems to lose it's edge. Tracks like "Goodbye Lovers & Friends" & "Brief Encounters" don't seem to fit right with this band. Although there are still well put together lyrically and instrumentally, the songs don't meet the stature of the singles off the album.

Lyrics — 8
Lyrically, the album is fairly strong, with the classic style of lyrics seen on all their albums being evident in the albums 12 songs. However in putting this album together, and listening to this album it seems that the album is no-where near an attempt to regain the popularity of their past albums. The album seems to be a direct and clear change for a more modern, mainstream, pop Franz Ferdinand. This may cause a bit of argument amongst fans, but I assure you, the change is good. Tracks like "Love Illumination" and "Right Action" keep the old fans hooked on the movement, whilst tracks like "Stand on the Horizon," "Treason! Animals" and "Bullet" show a new edge to the dance-rock craze that has formed from the success of UK rock bands like Franz Ferdinand and Arctic Monkeys over the past decade. The new change to more mainstream pop hits has also found the creation of slower dance tracks on the album. Tracks such as "The Universe Expanded" show a slower feel to Franz Ferdinand. All tracks on this album are extremely well put together and show many different sides to the new Franz Ferdinand feel.

Overall Impression — 9
"Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action" is an extremely well put together album, it is danceable, fun, catchy and classic Franz Ferdinand. The album is filled with spectacular hooks and riffs. The album shows a new turn to the band's music with less guitar orientated tracks that focus more on the catchy feel of the song and the what the song is saying rather than being big, high-energy rock tracks. All up, a great album by one of the UK leading rock bands of the 2000s. 

Standout tracks: "Love Illumination," "Evil Eye," "Right Action," "Bullet," "Stand on the Horizon."

0 comments sorted by best / new / date