You Could Have It So Much Better review by Franz Ferdinand

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 4, 2005
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8 (240 votes)
Franz Ferdinand: You Could Have It So Much Better

Sound — 9
The first album was good and funky, and this album keeps that same bounce but with a much darker sound to the chopping guitar riffs. The Fallen, Well That Was Easy and Walk Away are the best tracks as they are dark but with a guitar and bass guitar combination that makes you want to Jig from the word go. However What You Meant and Elenor Put Your Boots On are the reason it dosent hit 10, it's just a bit too slow and Beatle like which they can't hit properly.

Lyrics — 10
I like Alex's voice they way he rhymes is always good, and even when he doesnt rhyme he can still pull it off (The Fallen). Eleanor is one that goes to slow and it doesn't suit him too well but still a good song. I've always liked Franz lyrics and the voice.

Overall Impression — 10
This beats their first album not by miles but enough to make it worthy of a purchase. The new dark edgey sound mixed with the sharp stabbing lyrics makes for a super-cool album. Shame about Eleanor and What you meant even though they are still listenable songs. Well done Franz.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date