Fire And Water review by Free

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 31, 1969
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (9 votes)
Free: Fire And Water

Sound — 10
Before this album Free had not yet reached the number one spot in the charts until Free then released the album 'Fire And Water'in 1970. The album may only contain 7 tracks, each track is well written and when played can be adored by any music lover. The first track 'Fire And Water' starts off with a lovely guitar riff, and then seconds later the powerful vocal talents of Paul Rogers and the outstanding bass lines of Andy Fraser come in and take the song. Free's lyrics and vocals are very similar to those used in soul and even jazz. To state songs that would stand out on the album would be impossible as all of them do, but in particular track 5 'Mr Big' boasts a huge bass and guitar instrumental unlike any other and this makes the song all the more memorable. Also the final track 'All Right Now' written by Andy Fraser and Paul Rodgers was a hit, a classic even, that reached number 1 in the charts and has been known word wild since.

Lyrics — 10
Throughout the album the band members share the song writing. Although Paul Rodgers and Andy Fraser write a five of the seven tracks. Lyrically Free are outstanding, although the band have now split up Andy Fraser continues to write songs for a living. The lyrical content of the album 'Fire and Water' is brilliant. The vocalist Paul Rodgers has been considered to be one of the greatest vocalists in rock. Not only does his voice suite this type of bluesy rock that Free brought us, Paul Rodgers is know the front man of Queen, after Paul Kossoff's (guitarist) death. With the massive hit 'Alright Now' the band also gained a huge advantage when the single became a million seller. There next single released was 'The Stealer' although it posed good lyrical content it stood no chance to the mighty alright now, and in the end turned out to be a complete flop.

Overall Impression — 9
Overall the album is a great album, not only does it poses seven tracks, these seven are very well put together songs that could appeal to anyone. The songs are great to listen to and require plenty of skill to play and due to Paul Rodger's marvellous vocal talents, they are also rather hard to imitate. But due to the album being released almost 40 years ago the sound quality is not of the best standard and therefore it lets the album down slightly when you are trying to listening to it through an mp3 player. But this album is very good and really should be bought if you would like an album that you would not be able to stop listen to for at least a month.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date