13 Songs review by Fugazi

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 1, 1989
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.3 (18 votes)
Fugazi: 13 Songs

Sound — 10
Fugazi is one of the most innovative and original bands of the last 20 years. As one of the originators of the 'emo' sound, Fugazi was making music that no one else was making (save label mates Rites of Spring,Guy's previous band) in the late 80s (still stands true today). The guitar sounds on this album are amazing. Although not technically outstanding guitarists, they (guitarists Ian MacKaye and Guy Picciotto) are very good and unique songwriters.

Lyrics — 10
Ian MacKaye's lyrics are amazing. He writes about both political and personal issues. His political lyrics are not as straight-forward as many bands and are filled with metaphors. He also sings about a cure of AIDS on 'Give Me the Cure'. Both Ian and Guy Picciotto do main vocals, and bassist Joe Lally does background vocals. They don't have the best singing voices, but their approach to singing the lyrics adds something else to the music.

Overall Impression — 10
This is a essential album for any hardcore/punk/emo/indie fan. Ian and the boys have paved the way for many types of indie music and while staying true to their DIY ways, have become a huge band in the indie scene. The best songs off this album are "Waiting Room", "Bulldog Front", "And the Same" and "Suggestion". This album is definately worth buying (especially since Fugazi keep their CD prices low).

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    This album introduced me to new sounds of music. "Margin Walker" is brutal, simply.
    This is one of my favorite albums of all time. And I don't even really like punk all that much. This is a genuine amazing record.
    This is actually a compilation of the band's first two EPs. Guy doesn't play guitar on the songs from the first EP.