Welcome Home Armageddon review by Funeral for a Friend

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 14, 2011
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.2 (58 votes)
Funeral for a Friend: Welcome Home Armageddon

Sound — 10
With earthquakes in New Zealand, the growing crisis in Japan and the recent floods in Brazil, Australia it feels like the world is on the edge of disaster! If the world does however, end in 2012, then "Welcome Home Armageddon" will be used as the soundtrack to the end of the world! FFAF have never sounded better! This is their fastest, heaviest most chaotic album to date. It is also their best album to date.

Lyrics — 10
All the melodic hooks, the catchy choruses, the odd heavy-metal riff or breakdown moment, except it all so polished and defined. With drummer Ryan Richards playing as good as he ever had, he is also back in charge of the screams, which we haven't seen a lot of since "Casually Dressed.." Matthew Davies sounds just as good as well, especially on "Sixteen" and "Man Alive." Guitarists Kris Roberts and Gavin Burrough show off some serious riffage throughout the album, all band members sound equally impressive and at their best.

Overall Impression — 10
For those of you who have lost faith in FFAF, "Welcome Home..." should restore your faith fully! If you thought 05's "Hours" wasn't memorable or 07's "Tales..." didn't capture that sense of passion and power or 08's "Memory and Humanity" just didn't cut it, well pick this up and fall back in love with Funeral For A Friend!! Even though its early in the year, this is one of my favorites so far and while there are still some epic new albums out later this year(Thursday- No Deconvolution, Set Your Goals0 Burning At Both Ends or Lamb Of Gods new one)"Welcome Home Armageddon", for the most part could be the best album of the year! DONT MISS THIS!

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Some of you people really need to actually learn what emo and screamo are.