Curses review by Future of the Left

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 24, 2007
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (5 votes)
Future of the Left: Curses

Sound — 10
This is FOTL's first full length studio album. The band consists of two ex-members of cult heroes "Mclusky" and it is safe to say that this record is not far from Mclusky's sound. It is very much a loud record, with plenty of distorted riffs and heavy, pounding drumbeats. Despite this, it manages to be very melodic and uplifting at times. It also uses subtle wit to craft clever songs. This CD uses, aside from the ususal bass, drums and guitar, some kind of Roland synthesizer which has a fantastic sound alongside the bass riffs. There is also a suprising closing track which features a tinkling piano and gentle vocals that sooth and haunt.

Lyrics — 9
Exactly the kind of lyrics I expected from Andy Falkous after listening to his work with McLusky. Very ambiguous and strangely haunting, if at times very crude. There is also a nice range of vocals on the record from the raw shouting and screaming of "The Lord Hates A Coward" to the gentle beauty of "The Contrarian". Fantastic stuff.

Overall Impression — 10
This album is definitely one of the best of the year and I would easily buy it again if I ever lost the CD. It is a must have for any McLusky fans or anyone who likes their rock music a little different and very raw. It's an evolution of McLusky's work and it works perfectly as a record. With pretty much every track a winner and a generally adrenaline soaked experience, this album is a brilliant combination of energy, power and witty subtleties from a very clever and talented band. Not a bad word to say.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Mr Pringle
    nice short review you've got here and i do agree with you 100% this albums amazing!