Tonight The Midway Shines review by Ga Gas

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 21, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 10 (3 votes)
Ga Gas: Tonight The Midway Shines

Sound — 10
Upon hearing the first song on the album which is entitled 'Sex,' you already have a feeling of what the tone will be for the rest of the album. The Ga Ga's debut album, is one of the best debut's I've ever heard, the intruments complement the vocals so perfectly, and with the lead guitarist Rob putting in his share of guitar solos, it is certainly an album to listen to if your a fan of bands such as Guns N' Roses and even The Darkness. The guitars used on the album (Gibson and Hamer guitars) have such lush tones, you wouldn't expect to find this on an artist's debut album. The bass lines may be the simplest intrument on the album but it helps blend the sound together during verses along with the drums.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics may not seem so special when you simply read them, but when you hear them being sung, you will then know how great they actually are. The verses on the album vary from being softly sung such as on the song 'Pressure' or just being belted out as on such songs as 'KO.' The vocals fit in with the intrumental tracks greatly as not only do the vocals stand out against the intruments but it also give the whole album a more polished feel. But you can't help feel that the verses are just leading up to great chorus's which show more of the lead singer's (Tommy) ability to sing, and while listening to the vocals, you can sense that Tommy is enjoying himself and is not afraid to do what he wants to do.

Overall Impression — 10
Compared to other albums of the genre, The Ga Ga's album stands out on it's own, at a mighty 48 minutes, their debut album holds onto you until it's over, and then you'll want to listen to it over and over again. The most impressive songs in my opinion are 'Replica,' ' Left of Centre,' 'Pressure' and 'Breaking America.' This does not mean that the other songs aren't good, it just means that these are the songs that you will listen to over and over again. I hope after reading this review you buy their album 'Tonight The Midway Shines' and support them. Hailing from the UK they show once again that Britain produce great rock bands as well as other bands which are specific to different genre's, but if you love catchy riffs and anthemic chorus's, then this is the album for you.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date