Raw review by Garett Spencley

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.7 (13 votes)
Garett Spencley: Raw

Sound — 9
A sound that truly transcends the genres and terms usually applied to music reviews. But then you would expect nothing less of the man continuously voted UG's best guitarist. An album that moves from a Satriani-esque sound through Latin grooves reminiscent of Carlos Santana to a very classic rock sound verging on blues that puts this reviewer in mind of B.B. King. Truly an aural feast. From the opening salvo of the aptly named Celestial Serenade through the album highlights of Crystal Eyes and Sonic Elation to the glorious ending of Night-Out this is an album not to be used as background music but to be truly enjoyed and appreciated. This is an indie album in the truest sense of the word. In that it was recorded and published by the artist and yet this does not hamper the quality of the production one bit. The sound quality as well as the CD packaging are of a standard that one would expect from a major record label without any of the inherent hawking of ringtones or merchandise.

Lyrics — 8
This is a mostly instrumental album, although on Crystal Eyes when lyrics are used it only adds a greater depth to the album and it would be hoped that the artist will add vocals to more songs for future releases. The singing itself is not up to Jeff Buckley standard (and who is) but then that never stopped Bob Dylan or the Spice Girls.

Overall Impression — 9
This is really a great album, one that I would surely recommend to my friends. It manages to Rock (yes, Rock with a capital "R") without being obnoxiously loud or losing a sense of melody. A nice break from the current standard of over-produced pathetic rock music and another clear sign that independant music is far from being dead. Raw by Garett Spencley is a album that rewards to listener and is a very worthwhile way to spend ~45 minutes. You will not regret buying this album.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date