Board Up The House review by Genghis Tron

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 19, 2008
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.9 (17 votes)
Genghis Tron: Board Up The House

Sound — 10
Okay, to start up with this; extreme metal is one the most stagnant areas of music today, every second album most will lay hands on, will have the same chromatic riffs and minor arpeggios you heard yesterday. Genghis Tron have come to change this. Produced by Converge Guitarist Kurt Ballou, 'Board up the house' is the experimental trio's second full length release after 2006's 'Dead Mountain Mouth'. Genghis tron which consists of Jordan Hamilton (guitars/programming), Michael Sochynsky (keyboards/programming) and Mookie Singerman (vocals/keyboards), are unusual for one part; they lack not only a bassist but also a drummer. The band chooses pre-programmed drums over a real one, but the effect works. It isn't a gimmick but a feature which makes this album act like the stunning cybergrind electro record it is. The album starts up with the titular track which sets the tone of the album from the moody tapping and synth laden intro to the astounding outro. The album is stark, cold and depressing, the atmosphere of your room changes as the first few seconds tick in. The brutality is used sparingly; enough to keep you pumped but not at the level to absolutely smother you, this tastefulness sets Genghis Tron apart from their cybergrind colleagues like 'The Locust'. Musically overall it is unabashedly radiohead and agoraphobic nosebleed in a food processor. How Brutal. Ambience works well on this album, as the harmonised keyboard and guitar work is a surprisingly good mix. Everything melds with layed complexity, and develops a sense of musical brevity. Unfortunately with this level of excellence, it often leaves you with wanting more, which seems to be a curse of good albums. With a negative point being a fairly positive one, the listener truly does not have much to lose.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics are alienated and pained, and carry a surprising level of depth and poetic prowess. The themes cycle around a variety of themes and are predominantly society based, with the exception of 'I Won't Come Back Alive' which is tear-jearking take on suicide and depression. Singerman's (yes, singerman) screech is familiar to the tortured shrieks of Jacob Bannon's. Singerman's other vocal style is a clean haunting drone familiar to that of early Presets. The vocals slide into the music well, and is a vital point of Genghis Tron's signature sound.

Overall Impression — 10
This album is mesmerising. It is most-likely the album you have been looking for, if you think you've already think you've heard everything. Plus, it can possibly save grindcore from the depths of tedium single-handedly. Honestly, I have rarely experienced an album which so profoundly impacts my life so deeply, not just musically but lyrically. As a previous reviews states; the replay value is plain and simple astonishing. I don't think I will ever get sick of the 'Board up the house', and in short: I don't want to.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date