Postcards From Hell review by Getamped

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8 (5 votes)
Getamped: Postcards From Hell

Sound — 8
The follow up to 2003's Phoney Society and a step forward with their sound, overcoming the criticism or, worse so, the nonchalance that most had met their first album with. For the fans that had pricked up their ears, getAmped delivered the goods a second time. An eclectic mixture of punk attitudes, pop catchiness, and rock riffs which builds up into an addictive wall of sound. Postcards From Hell is a clear development from Phoney Society, taking their well worked formula from the first album and giving it a more mature edge which subsequently gives them their own sound. The music often varies from song to song, with 'Reject and Sterilise' pushing the pop/punk buttons, 'Postcards from Hell' going into straight-forward, honest rock and 'Walking on the Moon' and 'God of the Zombies' combining different styles to come out with something which seems fresher somehow. The sound may become repetitive over a few songs, and you'll find that some tracks stick out more than others, but nevertheless the majority of the songs have a habit of sticking in your head and you'll soon find yourself singing them in your head.

Lyrics — 10
Phoney Society set up their punk attitude towards society, their disdain towards certains aspects and their assult against the things that get their backs up hasn't ceased with this album. 'Postcards from Hell', 'Tyrannosaurus', 'Reject & Sterilise' and 'Short Fuse' all show blasts of anger towards the parts of society they feel bring the world down. Lyrics like "tyrannosaurus was here before us, but now he's down there waiting for us" will circle around your head for days on end and their full-fledged belief in what they are singing gives an almost bitter but yet honest edge to what they're playing and singing. This is helped along by the singer's ability to both sing a softer, more melodic line and then go into a slightly more aggressive rock style. Lyrics are definitely a significant and strong aspect to this album, they're not just in there because "people like music with words."

Overall Impression — 10
I hold a 'soft spot' for getAmped having followed them from when they first appeared on the music scene up until this second album, and if they continue I'll continue to buy their albums. 'Postcards From Hell', 'Reject & Sterilise', 'God Of The Zombies' and 'Tyrannosaurus' would all fight for position of most impressive/favourite songs from the album, but in honesty, I would happily listen to all of them. The only real fault I find with the album, as mentioned earlier, is the fact that some songs are a little 'samey' with some standing head and shoulders above others. If someone stole this album I would probably find them and beat them to within an inch of their life because it's an awesome album and it's been signed by Rick and Tim.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I need to get the album as soon as I have some spare cash, they're a good band.
    They're playing down near me tomorrow but it's an over-18s only bar and they won't let under 18s in even for a gig...kinda sucks...but I guess they've got to do it.