Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence review by Glassjaw

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 9, 2000
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.8 (13 votes)
Glassjaw: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence

Sound — 10
The style on this album is a near un-recognisable blend of hardcore punk, metal, nu-metal and even emo. Glassjaw have an in-describable style of their own that to this day continues to defy all attempts to label and categorize it. Dissonant, overdriven chords and scathing, yet catchy distorted lead melodies are prevailent on this album. Most of the lyrics on the album were written during Daryl's stay in a children's ward in a hospital with Krohn's Disease. The mood is dissatisfied, to say the least and the music is in accordance with this. The sound on the album is far from 'easy listening', but when in the right frame of mind, the music takes you on nothing short of a glorious rollercoaster-ride of melancholy and rage.

Lyrics — 8
Described by many as something of a concept album, Daryl Palumbo's lyrics focus almost entirely on failed relationships and essentially all of the shit he had gone through regarding girls up to that point. The title track; "Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence" encapsulates the lyrical mood of the entire album. The ever-cryptic lyrics detail Daryl's darkest hour during his first serious Krohn's disease lapse at the age of 18, at the outset of which he was unceremoniously dumped by his then-girlfriend. The album approaches climax during Daryls furiously tortured screams at the end of the track. The music feels like a seamless extension of the mood of the lyrics, with frankly unpleasant dissonance and moody ambience coupled with emotive lead melodies figuring heavily.

Overall Impression — 10
As the album grows and deepens in quality for the listener, you will find yourself favouring completely different sets of tracks on the CD. For the Glassjaw initiate, the most enjoyable songs to begin with are "When One Eight Becomes Two Zeros," "Ry-Ry's Song," "Piano" and "Her Middle Name Was Boom." As the cathartic power of the music takes hold, one finds oneself enthralled by the raw emotion of "Lovebites And Razorlines," "Pretty Lush" and "Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence." To cap it all off, as an afterthought of the whole episode is the hidden track "I'm Sorry"; a melancholic anthem of regret which follows two minutes of soothing white noise. This album is a slow-burner and I really mean that. For the most part, this album is actually difficult to comfortably listen to initially. It takes time to grow on you and that time spent is deeply enjoyable. It engages the listener like no other music. It takes a long, long time for the music to lose it's impact, the album is still an effective and potent body of music for me to listen to, well over six months after I first heard it. If the album were somehow lost to me, I wouldn't spare a single second in re-acquiring it. It's that essential.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date