Lucky Street review by Go Radio

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 1, 2011
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.6 (7 votes)
Go Radio: Lucky Street

Sound — 8
Go Radio is the child of former Mayday Parade vocalist, guitarist and lyricist Jason Lancaster. Formed in Tallahassee, Florida in April, 2007, the band released two EPs before finally putting out their highly anticipated debut full-length album, "Lucky Street". "Lucky Street" is a 14 track pop/rock album focusing mainly on Lancaster's one-of-a-kind vocals and signature lyrics. The other band members cannot be forgotten, since Steven Kopacz's drums do a great job of complimenting the songs and Alex Reed's guitar tracks are great when given a chance to shine. The acoustic guitar is given the spotlight on "House Of Hallways" and in the intro to "Hold On". Mainly on "Kill The Beast", Matt Poulos (bass) is given a chance to be heard - but unfortunately, his bass lines aren't able to be heard very well throughout most of the album. On tracks such as the heartbreaking "Forever My Father" and "The Truth Is", Lancaster is given a chance to show his skills on what (I think) is his strongest instrument - the piano! Strings are used on "Why I'm Home", "Hold On", and "House Of Hallways", and they do a great job of adding a new element to the tracks. The horns on "Fight, Fight" do that as well. When you break this album down musically, the chords and melodies are not very complicated - but they work. Go Radio did not redefine the pop/rock genre with "Lucky Street", but they did make a very good record.

Lyrics — 10
It's no secret that the focus of Go Radio is Lancaster's unique vocals. People familiar with the band Mayday Parade will recognize these vocals from all of Mayday's work up until 2009's "Anywhere But Here", their first album without Lancaster. While they were busy making their new record, Lancaster had already moved on with Go Radio - and his vocals are as strong as ever on their debut. Lancaster's vocals grab the listener right away on the big, epic sounding opening title track, and keep going strong on the more heavy sounding "Any Other Heart." Lancaster truly nails every single song, and every word he sings is filled with emotion. From the quick, fun "Kill The Beast" to the extremely emotional "Forever My Father", (the album comes with a new re-recording of the song, and the chilling original version recorded with Lancaster's brother and sister) his vocals never fail to carry the song in his signature style. The lyrics range from clever and fun ("Singing With The King") to emotional ("Any Other Heart") to heartbreaking ("Forever My Father"). Every song has lyrics that are clear and able to be understood (which I am grateful for, because some bands just slur all their words together and you have to read along to understand them) and all the lyrics are worth listening to and thinking about. Some songs are weaker than others ("Fight, Fight"), but they're still fun songs that are worth checking out. In conclusion, whether or not you enjoy his singing is your own opinion, but you must admit that he has a unique voice - and he knows how to use it.

Overall Impression — 9
"Lucky Street" is a gem of today's modern pop/rock, because it's a debut album that is going to be hard to top. Today, in my opinion, it's hard to find a band in this genre that has defined a sound of their own so quickly - one that doesn't blend in completely and obviously borrow from other major bands in their genre. But Go Radio, while not being the most innovative band in the world, has done enough on their debut to make a name for themselves. With the help of Lancaster's unique, emotion-filled vocals, they have become a band that demands your attention. Though the album has its flaws, it succeeds as a breath of fresh air in a time when the pop/rock genre is painfully boring.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date