Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven review by Godspeed You! Black Emperor

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 12, 2000
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.9 (26 votes)
Godspeed You! Black Emperor: Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven

Sound — 10
Double Album Released in 2000, recorded at chemical studio sounds in toronto canada. Structured more like classical music than as a normal album, splitted in movements, with really long pieces (ranging between 19 and 23 minutes). the album has 4 tracks (that could be considered 19 movements). Disc 1: 01. Storm - it sound like a huge welcome, just like you were having your first steps in heaven, or like the beggining of a beautiful parade. 02. Static - heaviest track of the album, sound larger than life at moments, it makes you feel like you are in the middle of a huge and violent battle. Disc 2: 03. Sleep - full of melancholy and memories, it's the "sad" track of the album, just to let you know that the end is near. 04. Antennas To Heaven - the only track in the album that doesn't starts with an S. Why? i completely ignore it. It's full of violent changes, it surprises you, when you feel that everything is under control, it changes again, with more strengt than the last one. the end of this track (and of the album) it's noise, that creates a sonical atmosphere and leaves you with a good flavor in your mouth. Filled with dark sounds and sudden changes, full of musical colors created by a wide variety of instruments (guitar, bass, violin, drums, percusion, cello, xylophone, keyboards). It takes you in a trip, like an excellent movie, only that, in this, you close your eyes and travel trough the sounds, going from a gas station to a death experience, to an old man's melancholy and even to a weird place feeling surrounded by children singing.

Lyrics — 9
It's an intrumental album, altough, there certain parts where singing is used with an ambient purpose. the few voices you can heard in it are from an interview with murray ostril about coney island, a few kids singing in french, and a man talking about a death experience (this guy is supossedly the same one speaking in the beggining of providence on the album f#a#.

Overall Impression — 10
To me it doesn't sound like anything else in this world, unique, fresh and inspiring. unlike other albums where you imagine the band playing the songs, in this one, each track leaves you with a different view, each movement has a scene that you can recreate in your mind. It's simply a beautiful piece of art, everything in it is just flawless (there's no other explanation for an album that keeps you excited and listening for over 80 minutes).

4 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Just got this for my birthday, i din't think anything would top 'The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place' by Explosions, but amazingly something has. Pure magic.