Demon Days review by Gorillaz

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 24, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.1 (64 votes)
Gorillaz: Demon Days

Sound — 10
The sound on this album is very different from the first album. The first album was rap beats based off of really chunky guitar riffs. However on Demon Days, the guitars are much more smooth and the overall sound as far as bass, and beats are a lot more layered than the previous album. This should be credited to the album's producer DJ Danger Mouse. He is the DJ who combined The Beatles "White Album" with Jay-Z's "Black Album" and called it "The Grey Album." He really takes the sound in a whole different direction. The styles on this record are rap, alternative rap, lougne rock, and R&B. It kind of cuts down on the punk-poppyness of their self titled debut from 2000 but still this is just an amazing sounding record. There is nothing else out there like it.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are as to be expected from Gorillaz. They are cooky, and very distinctive as Gorillaz lyrics. However they are socially concious lyrics on this record. From songs like Kids With Guns, November Has Come, and Dare, Gorillaz has grown up. The best song on the album is Fire Coming Out Of The Monkey's Head. It is read by Denis Hopper and tells an odd tale of greed, death, and destruction. Very impressive.

Overall Impression — 10
This CD is already going to go on my top 10 list of the year. It is jus so different, and so distinctive that, wether you like it or not, you have to respect just because it is SO different. The most impressive songs off of this album are Last Living Souls, Kids With Guns, Dirty Harry, Feel Good Inc., El Manana, November Has Come, All Alone, and Fire Coming Out Of The Monkey's Head. Do yourself a favor, listen to this great record. Top 10 of 2005! Withouht a doubt.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date