21st Century Breakdown review by Green Day

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 15, 2009
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.3 (829 votes)
Green Day: 21st Century Breakdown

Sound — 8
After the multi platinum sucess of 'American Idiot', Green Day where always going to have a hard time finding something to top it. 5 years later they are back, with the epic 3 act, almost concept album 21st Century Breakdown. Green Day go all out on this record, with a sound ranging from furious punk guitars on the likes of Know your Enemy, to the sweet piano balladry of the begining Viva La Gloria!.This is Coupled with full, fat and big production sheen from Butch Vig, not to mention the great rhytmn section of Dirnt and Cool who sound as solid as you would expect. The Record transends many different elements of the rock time line, while the melody to the acoustic verse on Before The Lobotomy always feels like it's about to break into ABBA's 'The Winner takes it all'. It doesnt't, but is ridiculously close. The Beatles esq Last Night On Earth also shows the wide range of ifluences going off on this record. This Record is basicaly big brash punk, Classic Rock and Power pop with some sweet falsetto moments highlighting Bille Joe Armstrongs ability to use his range more so than other Green Day Material, overall its sounds huge, when it comes out on CD, buy, put it in and blast it 11 for a great sounding rock record.

Lyrics — 8
The album features well executed Bittersweet Vocals, The Story of Christian and Gloria, mixing fury with love songs. Lyricaly this is one of Green Days Tightest albums lyricaly mature outings, Bille Joe shows his abilty to turn words and tell storys and spit rhetoric.

Overall Impression — 8
This is a very very good record, its big,its brash, it may be a tad pretentious, but its a huge sounding great record. Love Green Day or hate them, you cant aruge that there is no one better making this kind of mainstream modern rock at the moment, and that shows from this album. By no means is this album perfect, nowhere near, but for what it is it is easily one of the albums of the year, There is something missing from the album though however, it lacks a single point where the record explodes and reaches the height of everything it could be. The main fault of the album is that it constantly feels like its going somewhere though never gets there, 17 songs and it doesn't reach that one song, the hit that blows everything else away and is like wow and demands repeat listens, as an album its very good, but lacks that one song that blows you away, and makes you think you've listened to something historical or legendary rather than just a very good record. That one song is the difference between good and extraordinay.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date