Dookie review by Green Day

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 1, 1994
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.7 (200 votes)
Green Day: Dookie

Sound — 8
The sound is very original very pop - punky. The simple guitar riffs, catchy bass fills, and outstanding drums, all mix together that makes and over all innovative sound.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are extremely well written. For a guy at his age (18 I think) they are incredible. You can also hate them too. Lots of people have said there winny and stuff, but writing lyrics is very hard if you want good ones.

Overall Impression — 10
This album is much better than 1038 smoothed slappy hours. The singing is very good and altough he uses the same sound of voice throught the album it never gets boring. Mike Dirnt has done a really fabulous job on bass. No efects or anything but his fills are just great considering he plays with a pick and is hard to go from low up to your and do 5 second fill. Very good. Billie Joe has done a very good job with his 'simple, but effective three power chord songs'. Tre has done an outstanding job on drum. Just check out Basket Case, or the Welcome To Paradise. He's very good and talented for a pop punk sort of bands that you have these days. Overall extremley pleased with the album. They put a great amount of work and effort to come up with this. Definitely one of my top five albums's. Song order goes like this: Burnout 4/5 Having a blast 4/5 Chump 5/5 Longview 5/5 Welcome to paridise 5/5 Pulling teeth 5/5 Basket Case 5/5 She 5/5- brillint song Safarass roots 4/5 When I come around 5/5 Coming clean 5/5 Eminus sleepus 4/5 In the end 3.5/5 F.O.D 5/5- another brilliant song Extremely happy. Go buy it, you won't be dissapointed!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date