In The Mean Time review by Gretchen

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 10 (2 votes)
Gretchen: In The Mean Time

Sound — 10
Within the mix of 7-string guitars, hammering drums, and an ever-impressive bass player/lead singer, this band is anything but ordinary. The album's sound includes innovative guitar riffs, agressive chunking, and heavy bass tones and rhythm. There is also excellent balance in the slower songs on the CD.

Lyrics — 10
Ever tried holding down two jobs? The lead singer of Gretchen is also the bass player. Of course, it's been done before, but none of them have said it was easy! The compliance of the lyrics with the music is premier. Strong music background gratified with mature lyrics makes this band awesome on CD and at live shows.

Overall Impression — 10
ITMT is a no-comparison edition of what a rock album should sound like! With songs like: Zion, Every Moment, Lie To Yourself, and the recently released "Fading", the band's foundations are quite clear. Their music is true, descriptive, and appealing. Taking the standpoint of approaching life's issues, and discovering the confidence to overcome them.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date