Appetite for Destruction review by Guns N' Roses

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 27, 1987
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.4 (451 votes)
Guns N' Roses: Appetite for Destruction

Sound — 10
One of the greatest bands ever assembled this album captures tales of big city fears to drug use to just having a good time. The album was recorded in between GN'Rs party schedule so it took a long time. The rhythm has Izzy Stradlin's distorted power chords. The drummer Steven Adler is nothing special especially compared to Matt Sorum. Duff McKagan wrenches out some of the best bass lines ever and lots of good lead bass parts (Sweet Child O' Mine). Slash one of the greatest guitarists ever is well expressed on the album. The band really corresponds well together. The GN'R style mixes Blues with Hard Rock, Punk and a Metal edge.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics make sense. One of the best lyrical songs is Sweet Child O' Mine but Welcome to the Jungle is good too. Other than the 4 singles (Jungle, Sweet Child, Paradise City, Nightrain) every song features some form of swearing usually the f word. Axl Rose one of the greatest lead men ever. Known for the screech (Welcome to the Jungle) this is not the best example of his ability. He's best live. Still one of the best vocalists for his type of music.

Overall Impression — 10
One of two albums (Nirvana's Nevermind) to sound the death toll of hair/glam metal (thank god). If you hate glam metal listen to this album. This album dishes out the hits and the obscene anthems. If you buy this album make sure to get it uncensored. If it were stolen or lost I would buy it again. Here's an overview. 01. Welcome To The Jungle - the legendary arena anthem about big city dealers. Based on a true story according to Axl Rose. In the Top 5 in terms of Slash's guitar work. 02. It's So Easy - full of obscenities features a catchy opening bassline and an awesome guitar riff. 03. Nightrain - a song about late night life. A very innuendoy song. 04. Out Ta Get Me - one of the songs put on the album to show off Axl's willingness to swear. A low point to the album. 05. Mr. Brownstone - features and intro similar to that of Welcome to the Jungle. This song talks about dancin' with Mr. Brownstone. 06. Paradise City - a great guitar piece features some very political lyrics. 07. My Michelle - very reminiscent of an Aerosmith song captures the story of a girl from L.A. starts the 3 song string of songs about girls. 08. Think About You - probably the mushiest song from GN'R doesn't have much going for it. 09. Sweet Child O' Mine - the only GN'R song to hit No. 1 on the Hot 100 features Slash's best guitar work and the legendary intro. 10. You're Crazy - another of the songs thrown in for swearing. A better version of the song is featured on GN'R Lies EP. 11. Anything Goes - one of GN'R's edgier songs. Talks about partying. Has a strange backing track. 12. Rocket Queen - a very good song. Good riff from Slash. During the bridge there is a moaning sound clip which is a little racy.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date