Appetite for Destruction review by Guns N' Roses

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 27, 1987
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.4 (451 votes)
Guns N' Roses: Appetite for Destruction

Sound — 10
Appetite For Destruction brings out the very essence of 1970's rock n' roll and combines it with the raw sound of metal and creates a truly unique piece of art that has been the staple of any band influenced by Guns N' Roses ever since. Slash's (lead guitar) sound and riffs are all based off of Aerosmith's "Rocks" album but have their own feel to it, a heavier more aggressive sound that captivates any audience and any fan of great music. Izzy (rhythm guitar) follows Slash with his own sense of guitar playing, able to keep the song flowing while at the same time creating a new sense of guitar playing. He was also a main song writer for the guitar parts, eight out of twelve songs, for the album and must be given credit were credit is due. Duff plays the bass with a passion that is seen only once in a generation, putting energy and creating grooves that inspire any bass player today. Steve Adler, his drumming created a great beat for the songs and as for Axl, well, his voice is truly one of a kind. No one, not even Steven Tyler, has been able to shriek, yell or curse as high as Axl Rose has. His voice completes the circle for Guns N' Roses debut album, reaching from the low to high in a split second.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are rude, sexual, drunken, horny. And that's how this album should be. From the opening lyrics of "Welcome to the Jungle" to the peaceful words of "Sweet Child o' Mine", the words that spew out from Axl can only be defined as what we want. For the first four songs, he curses, he talks of drugs, sex and life on the L.A. streets. Then he tones it down for "Mr. Brownstone" and "Paradise City" and "My Michelle" (and I am talking about the lyrics not the sound). Then the lyrics show his softer side for "Think About You" and "Sweet Child o' Mine". Then just when you think that this album has gone soft, wrong. The rest of the album goes back into more swearing, sex, drugs and booze. Bringing you on a rollercoaster ride.

Overall Impression — 10
Appetite For Destruction may be Guns N' Roses debut album, put it is still their best one. This album brought back what hard rock, rock n' roll, whatever you want to call it, was supposed to be. In a time where glam metal was the scene, Slash refused to fall to the whammy bars and finger tapping guitar solos and single handly brought the Gibson Les Paul back from extinction using pure raw rock n' roll sound. Axl's screaming and combining of lyrics with Izzy created an epic masterpiece that never gets old, no matter how many times you listen to it. In my opinion, this is really one of the last great albums before rock music began to conform into simple little songs with only the intention of making money (I'm 18 and I'm disgusted by most of the stuff that has come out). We need music like this again. Below is the song list and my critque: "Welcome to the Jungle" - The name says it all, the guitar intro and Axl's police siren wail let you know instantly that you have entered Guns N' Roses territory and only the strong survive in their world of debochery. You're in for a wild ride. (5/5 rating) "It's so Easy" - This song is nothing else but straight talking about how he trys to pick up women from the bars and nightclubs, have their way with them, and as Axl says, tell them to "F*** off!" (4/5 rating) "Nightrain" - A song about drinking and at a low price, trying to live off of what any early band can get. Night train is a cheap wine that gets you wasted very fast and these guys, especially Slash, drink this stuff with pride. The intro, riffs and solo also complement it. (5/5 rating) "Out ta Get Me" - Very heavy guitar work goes on here as Axl describes the lives that he and his band mates live, trying to avoid being caught by police, or the glam metal band fans. Though it wouldn't matter, they'd just break out and do it again. (4/5 rating) "Mr. Brownstone" - This a turning point in the album as now the lyrics and sound become a little less aggressive and begin to have more rtyhym. Mr. Brownstone is a name for the drugs that Guns use on a day to day basis as they continue to dance along with him. (5/5 rating, very underated) "Paradise City" - Arguebly the best song on the album, Paradise City talks about L.A. life and political views all the while having a intro that is known throughout guitar, and whistle to single that it's go time and one of the best solos to let you know that you're only half way there. (5/5 rating) "My Michelle" - For those who don't know, it's about a friend of Axl's who is living life on the streets basically and is somewhat of a bum until she gets her act together. Slash is not as creative here but still has a sick riff going as the other's keep in tone. (4/5 rating) "Think About You" - This song is more or less a beginning to "Sweet Child o' Mine" as it shows Axl's softer side until the very end where it has a dark tone to it. Slash still saves his best for the last few songs. "Sweet Child o' Mine" - If you haven't heard this song, you've been living under a rock. The simple but legendary intro to the wailing solo, all while keeping a clean and meaningful tone, this is a song that comes once in a lifetime and shows what is to come for Guns N' Roses's future ballads. (5/5 rating) "You're Crazy" - Just when you thought they would still sound soft, nope. Axl and Slash come back with more aggression and rage to turn the album back around. You thought that they had gotten past the licks of the first four songs? Think again. (4/5 rating) "Anything Goes" - Axl doesn't care how he gets some, as long as he gets it and goes on to say as the song states. "My way, your way, anything goes tonight!!" Slash continues with the licks, saving just a little more. "Rocket Queen" - Dedicated to a women who was going to have a band by the same name, Slash creates a very unique but wonderful riff while Duff's bass groove comes into full effect. The bridge in between with Axl causing his girl to moan (look that up for yourself), and the message stating that everything will be alright closes out an album that will stand the test of time. Axl Rose - Vocals Slash - Lead Guitar Izzy Stradlin - Rtyhym Guitar Duff McKagan - Bass Steve Adler - Drums

9 comments sorted by best / new / date

    best heavy metal CD ever i don't care what anyone says you just want to listen to every song again and again. There few CD were you love every song! =)
    tekee007 wrote: slash is overrated and how is gnr heavy metal? i laughed my ass off when i saw that
    That doesn't take away from his skill.
    best album ever it was wonderful good through the end i didnt have to skip songs 1 time
    The greatest rock album of the 80's hands down.. oh and welcome to the jungle scored number one in vh1's 100 greatest hard rock songs of all time