Greatest Hits review by Guns N' Roses

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 23, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.2 (119 votes)
Guns N' Roses: Greatest Hits

Sound — 10
There are no liner notes, the cardboard packaging is flimsy, the remastering isn't notable, and any compilation that contains more songs from The Spaghetti Incident? than G N' R Lies is unbalanced. That said, it does offer the biggest hits ? "Welcome to the Jungle," "Sweet Child o' Mine," "Patience," "Paradise City," "Don't Cry," "You Could Be Mine," "November Rain," "Live and Let Die" ? which may satisfy some fans. Still, there's not only a number of hits and important songs missing ? anywhere from the charting singles "Nightrain" and "Estranged" to the essential album tracks "It's So Easy," "Mr. Brownstone," and "Used to Love Her," among many others ? the preponderance of epics, ballads, and covers. A full five of the record's 14 tracks are covers gives an inaccurate portrait of the band, effectively neutering its reckless rage.

Lyrics — 10
As it written on a box -- it's a "Greatest Hits". That means only this: it have not only the best guitar sounds off the whole GN'R era, but a most impressive lyrics from their shiny days.

Overall Impression — 8
Otherwise known as the album Axl tried to kill, Guns n' Roses' Greatest Hits is essentially a last-ditch effort by Geffen to get some GNR product, any GNR product out on the shelves. And, really, who can blame them? It was ready to surface in March 2004, when Rose, supported by his numerous ex-bandmates, filed a lawsuit against Geffen claiming the record was unauthorized, would do damage to their reputation, and distract from Chinese Democracy, which was, of course, no closer to completion than it was a year prior. Their lawsuit was denied, and voila, here is it! It's easy to see why the band was irked by Greatest Hits, since it bears all the hallmarks of a slapdash compilation, hastily assembled by the label as a way to buy time between releases. Guns n' Roses aren't necessarily a band that's well suited to hits compilations, since their albums capture the raw, messy vitality of their music. Here, they sound tamer than they ever were, even if the song selection does follow the charts closely. But even if you sympathize with the band's argument that this is not an especially flattering picture of the band, it's easier to sympathize with the label since there are undoubtedly some fans that would like a hits comp, no matter how uneven it is, but the label has been stuck with no more than a whisper of a promise of a new GNR record for so long they've been left to manufacture their own. It is hard to give a rating for this record, because it's not something new for occasional listeners and diehard fans (except for maybe Sympathy For the Devil, which was never released before on any GN'R record). Nevertheless, it's Guns N Roses, multi-platinum hard rockers from L.A., and they deserve a top mark, but for the lack of anything new - a strong four.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date